Tipperary Waterford

Club Committee 2020

Chairman Gordon Nicholson 086 4020771
Co. Cork.
Secretary Ailbe Ryan 087 2726980
P.R.O Kathleen Kelly 086 8340976, skkelly@eircom.net
Treasurer Aidan Power

Club Notes – Winter 2021

The biggest event of the year was when 25 club members travelled to West Cork and stayed for 3 days visiting 7 farms.

Each host farmer had their own life story on how they achieved what they have and how they built up such fine herds of cows. They were all so welcoming to us and provided wonderful  hospitality. I would like to thank each of them so much.

John Joe & Andrew O Sullivan

Seamus & James Crowley, Moneygurran Herd

Shinagh farm (Kevin Aherne)

Robert Shannon and family , Ballydehob Herd

Robert Helen and family, Eedy Herd 

Claire & Dinny White, Seaview Herd

Eddie & John Flynn, Ryefarm Herd

Congratulations again to all on what they have achieved. 

Club Herds Competition Results 2021
Elite Section

1st  Noel Hennessey

2nd  Ailbe Ryan

3rd  Michael Spillane

Senior Section

1st  Sean Kelly

2nd  Mark McCarthy

3rd  M & J Quinlan

Intermediate Section

1st  Padraig Moroney

2nd  Belmont Farm

3rd  Philip & Robert Tyrell

Junior Group Section

1st  Kieran O Donoghue

2nd  Jamie Walsh

3rd  Anthony Slattery

The value of milk per day was a total new award this year. It is aimed to reward lifetime profitability.

1st  Lactation – Philip Cusack

2nd  Lactation – Philip Cusack

3rd  Lactation – Ailbe Ryan

Overall Highest EBI Herd Kieran Hearne.

Our final event for the year was our club field day, which was held on the farm of Padraig & Audrey Moroney and family. 

This included juvenile stock judging, food and a chat and the announcement of the results of our club herds competition. A great day was had by all and a big thank you again to the hosts.

Ailbe Ryan, Secretary.